Fare You Well

My wife, Marilyn Peters, a successful and respected trial attorney, was diagnosed with incurable, Stage IV stomach cancer in April 2014.  Marilyn possessed all of the best traits we can strive for as humans—she was moral, compassionate, passionate, smart, inquisitive, honest, adventurous, sensitive, caring and loving.  She was loyal to a fault to her family, friends and colleagues and was a mentor to and advocate for so many aspiring lawyers.  She was the ultimate extrovert and cared deeply about the lives of those around her.  She was never afraid to speak her mind and to fight against unfairness and hypocrisy.  Despite the devastating news, Marilyn determined to battle the disease and to carry on her life day-to-day with dignity and grace.  She continued to manage her career, enjoy every day with family and friends, care for her elderly mother, who died last December never knowing of Marilyn’s cancer, travel, ski, hike and practice yoga, while undergoing the debilitating treatments that cancer patients have to endure.  She did not wallow in self-pity—she knew many family, friends and colleagues who had cancer—some of whom survived and others who did not.  As a keen observer of everything going on around her, Marilyn saw the grim and anxious faces of the family and patients in the oncology waiting rooms awaiting fateful diagnoses or to be poked, prodded, scanned and poisoned in their efforts to battle this heinous disease.  She knew she was not alone or singled out.  

Our daughter, Sara, suggested that Marilyn write a blog of her experiences and Sara, a graphic designer, set it up.  I believe the blog was intended to be personal—therapeutic for Marilyn.  But soon I began to receive comments and emails from people who were reading her blog and remarking how honest, open, beautiful and inspirational it was and how much it impacted them emotionally.  

Marilyn passed away on August 20, 2015.  She dictated her last blog to her friend Judy the day before.  Marilyn was lucid and in control to the end and in many tearful conversations told friends and family how much she loved them and that she was no longer afraid to die.  None of us in her immediate family read her blog until after she died.  While this may sound corny to some, but in the case of God v. Marilyn A. Peters, and despite God’s immense advantage, Marilyn did not lose, but rather reached a mutually agreeable settlement.  Here is her blog.

___

Alan Greene, Marilyn’s best friend and devoted husband and law partner for 34 years.  

Standard

9 thoughts on “Fare You Well

  1. Karen Peters says:

    HUGS to you Alan, Sara & Alex. Marilyn’s blog was so inspirational because she was so open and honest. She fought a great fight.

  2. Dianne says:

    Alan, I think of Marilyn, you, Sara and Alex daily. Even though Marilyn was engaged in a tough struggle, her true character emerged even more through this experience, and yes, she was an inspiration to all of us. We all can carry that inspiration with us and live our lives as valiantly and fully as Marilyn did. I am so grateful to have shared a lasting friendship with her. Much love to you, Sara and Alex.

  3. Karen Hebda says:

    My heart goes out to you Alan and to Sara and Alex. Thank you for out for sharing your thoughts and putting your love for Marilyn into words. The two of you had a beautiful relationship and I know how much you must miss her. She was a very special person and it was an honor to know her and call her my friend.

  4. Maud Gosse says:

    Fare thee well, I am very saddened to get this news..I prayed so hard it would be different😢. I accidentally stumbled on Marilyn’s blog around September last year while fighting my own battle…I shall miss your posts sweet lady and very much appreciate you allowing me the insight..so much of the chemo experience was and is the same for me. My heart is breaking. My sincerest condolences Alan to you and your family on such a great loss. Marilyn we are all just stardust…..you have now become my biggest star in the heavens! Rest easy my friend….Upward❤️❤️❤️xxxxxoooo

  5. Dear Family and Friends, We lost a great one ( GREAT– WIFE, SISTER, DAUGHTER, COUSIN, NIECE , AUNT AND LAWYER PLUS MUCH MORE)way to soon and as her brother whom many of you don’t know since I moved away for business purposes over 36 years ago . I tried to visit more often but my Bi-Polar hurt me when it hit me 28 years ago but Marilyn Alan, Sara and Alex spent time with us in Denver and Sacramento we had good times !

    She as you know was beautiful inside and outside and put herself before others just like her great husband ( ALAN )who I call my Brother a great Man of honor and one of the nicest persons I know he was a blessing to Marilyn and our entire Family.He is a ROCK like Marilyn and my late Father a marine from World War II– he is smiling down on all of us with pride of my sister and Alan how great he handled her illness what so many great Friends and Family!

    Marilyn was so smart as she attended Wayne State University they told her go to a better Law School she was accepted to Harvard and U of M chose U of M since it was closer to Family as it turned out she was a great super Lawyer that broke the Men’s only Club since she open doors for women in her profession and made sure they received equal pay a true hero my hero my older, smarter, wiser sister of great honor and filled with loved and loved by anyone who had a chance of meeting her in this life!

    THANK YOU ALL FOR YOUR HELP CARING FOR HER AND FOR THE LOVED YOU SHOWED OUR FAMILY ! MAY GOD BLESS HER AND MAY HE RESTORE HER AND GOD WILLING WE WILL ALL SEE HER AGAIN !

    LOVE YOU ALL AND LOOKING FORWARD TO HONORING HER NEXT THURSDAY AT FOREST LAKE COUNTRY CLUB! PLEASE COME JOIN US SHE WOULD LIKE THAT AND YOU WILL FEEL THE LOVE IN THAT ROOM!!!!!!

    LOVE YOU ALL,

    PHILIP PETERS

  6. Therese says:

    Alan,

    A beautiful tribute. Marilyn touched my life profoundly. I’m a better person having known her, and will miss her deeply.

    My condolences to family and friends, and especially to you, Sara, Alex. ❤️

  7. I miss my dearest friend. Everything is different without my sister/friend. I love you Marilyn….we will be together someday again. The Heavens have entered an angel, and I am selfish. …I wanted you for me, just a bit longer…

  8. Lisa says:

    Alan

    I do not know if you will still be reading replies to this post or not, but I found myself needing to type my first response, even though I have read and re-read this blog many times. I attended Marilyn’s service yesterday, and I was once again awed ( but not surprised) by Marilyn’s amazing life and impact on so many people. As you know, I stopped in to visit just a few days before she left this earth and that two hours together with her has changed me forever. I am still incredulous that she was able to look so beautiful despite the horrible changes the cancer had imposed upon her physical body. Her smile and grace were ever present. And, as a woman of many words, she continued to talk with me despite the shortness of breath. I honestly didn’t want to leave. I think of her so often, probably as much as I think about my own son. I think of you and Alex and Sara and wish you much love and a path to peace as you now move on to living life without Marilyn physically next to you. That said, she is surely with you all more than ever, looking over you all like a mother hen.
    How does one sign off of a note such as this? I will keep it simple and in line with Marilyn’s advice that we share and say this word as much as possible:
    Love,
    Lisa

  9. Maud Gosse says:

    Marilyn I truly so miss your inspirational posts….. but happy you are not suffering…..you are my Brightest star in the sky…..I know your family misses you also sending love, peace and joy to all❤️❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

